Saturday, February 25, 2012

Denver?

HEY ALL!

Basically it had been a super boring couple weeks and that is why I haven't blogged for a while.. then all of the sudden Vanessa and I decided for President's day we wanted to go home! So we quickly planned how we wanted to get there and what we wanted to do. We decided to fly! We booked our flights and we were ready to go! Right?? Well not exactly. Once again I decided I wasn't going to tell my family or Todd (who usually picks me up when I randomly decide to come home without telling my family haha) so then I started to freak.. No worries! I called my best friend Lauren and she was so excited I thought she was gonna drive to the airport that day and wait for two weeks until I got there. Anyways Alisha decided she wanted to go as well (after I told her she had to and begged her to come) so we got her flight booked as well and we were set. We told mom and dad that we were going to Grandma's and we were gonna see Connie and Justin and made up a ton of stories (definitely not lies!) Anyways we drove down to Utah on Thursday night, we stopped twice so Vanessa and I could pee, got to Grandma's by midnight, ate some food and slept. I had THE BEST sleep of my life since I had been back at school. It was amazing. Anyways the next morning Grandma made us delicious breakfast burrittos and we headed to the airport! It was a little busy but we got to our gate with about 45 minutes to wait until we board. Man we were so stoked to get on the plane that, that 45 mins became 5023984023470284184 hours! It was great. Anyways! We got on our plane finally which.. was totally sketch and tiny. We thought we were gonna die! But we made it safely! Here are some awesome pics we took on the way to Denver!!

Our Gate! :D


This is us waiting to board!

We were a little scared at how small the plane was.. haha


We got bored.. so we took pics :)

This is our complimentary food :)


This is how we roll on a plane! :D

AND THEN FINALLY.........


HELLO DENVER!!


So here we are at the Denver airport.. Vanessa and I of course had to pee.. and Alisha thought we were aliens from another planet because apparently she can go all day without peeing.. Geez. Okay.. haha. So we decided to send my mom a pic of us in the airport when we were almost to the house. We sent it to her and she took like forever to respond with.. Where? I was like for really!?! Here is the pic:)




So Lauren decides she has a plan and runs up to our door. Needless to say.. Alisha and I didn't know the plan.. so we stood behind the garage laughing while Lauren talks to my mom.. Here is the converstaion.
 M- Lauren... what are you doing here?
L- Hi! I um.. have something for you... from... uh my mom?
M- oh.. okay...
L- I'll uh be right back.. It's in the car...
Haha! Lauren started walking back and I popped my head around the garage wall and my mom saw me got all excited and it was just great. When we walked in and hugged her I smelled cookies! We picked the best day to come home! Cookies!! YAY! So Savanna was in the bath downstairs, so we ran down there and scared her and said WE CAME TO SEE YOU! She didn't know what to think at first, but she was happy we were there.  My daddy was at work so I told my mom to call and tell him to come home early! So she called and told him he should so they could catch up on the Walking Dead series. As she was hanging up she said, Ok we have to go get Kara now meaning Julia! I was sitting in the chair like MOM! WHAT ARE YOU DOING! Haha good thing she always messes up our names, my dad didn't suspect anything. Julia was at hip hop class so we walked over to the school and hid behind the building. As she walked by she glanced over and said with a shocked face, THEY'RE HERE?! She was also very happy and we were happy as well to be home with our family! So then that night Lauren gave my mom, alisha and I all massages. It was so wonderful! Kinda weird to be naked under a blanket on a table in my basement... but it was so worth it! So then mom made enchiladas for dinner! YUM! My favorite of course. After everything was finished we were all sitting in the living room waiting for my dad to get home, when a car pulls up at 8:45-9 when he wasn't suppose to be home until 9:30. The blinds were open and he saw us all run to hide.. totally bummed us out! He played it off like he wasn't happy we were home, but we all know he was booming with excitment. Mostly to teach us how to play his game MW3. Haha. 


So then Friday night, I went to surprise Todd and Alisha went to surprise. Turns out Mark already knew, that butthead named weesha told him! Anyways.. I convinced my friend Martin to tell Todd to throw a party that night and he did. So Martin and Carson picked me up and we headed down there. Turns out that Lisa and Nikole happend to pass Alisha on her way to Mark's and their way to Todd's. They were honking at her and waving and all this stuff so when they got to Todd's they were like TODD! Is Kara gonna be here tonight? We just saw Alisha so they have to be here! Todd was like um no they are in Utah. They told me that and basically fought with them about it. Obviously he fought well because Lisa said she was starting to get convinced she was honking at some random girl haha. So Todd texted Alisha asking if she was in Utah. Alisha called me right away and was like are you at Todd's yet? He is suspicious of us not being in Utah. I told her not to reply because I was going to be there in 10 minutes. So we get to Todd's house, Carson and Martin walked in first and I followed. Trevor answered the door and his jaw dropped as I walked in. I told him to be quiet and saw Todd at the end of the hallway. I ran and attacked him. Everyone was screaming OH MY GOSH IT'S KARA!! SEE WE TOLD YOU SHE WAS HERE! It was a mad house. Todd basically cried and was so happy to see me. He had no idea I was going to be there! I kidnapped him the rest of the weekend and we just hung out with the family, had family game night, watched my dad as he taught us how to play MW3, read some books to the girls, ate mom's delicious food and colored our hair. It was the best weekend ever! I am so blessed to have my family and friends :) here are some pics of Todd and I partying over the weekend and pics with Cody and Mark and my baby!



But of course our weekend went by too fast and it was time for us to head back to the burg :( We got to Grandma's and she made us delicious tacos and then we headed out. Of course I didn't want to go back to reality so I spent the night at Vanessa's apartment! Haha. We got back to the burg.. and it was covered in snow! UGH! First real snow storm this semester and we missed it.. Darn! Here are the pics on the way back.


Goodbye Colorado :(

Helloooo Salt Lake :(



So we went back to reality. It was oh so awesome. I just love having homework.. Well instead of doing homework Thursday night my friend Carolina set me up on a date. A date instead of homework?! DEFINITELY. His name is Jordan and he is in my ward. So we went on a triple date! My three roommates with three guys that are roommates. It was actually a lot of fun. We went to see a greek tragedy called Phedre. The seats are in a circle around the stage and we sat front row. We were so close we could see the spit fly from their mouths and at one point, our feet were in the way and the actor had to go around a different way knocking stuff down, which made his part more dramatic! So go us! It ended up being a great date. Because let's be honest, at first it didn't sound like fun! Good thing it was! And he happened to be cute as well! And then last night I went to see Man on a Ledge with Spencer, John and Vanessa. It started out slow, but it got so intense and awesome, by the end we loved it! It was so good! I would highly recommend it!

Triple date :)

My hair looks really long and I love it! So I thought I'd share this:) haha





Well that's all for now! Hopefully something exciting will happen and I will feel the need to write to you all! Untill next time!! I love you all! Have a great next couple of weeks!! 
















Saturday, February 4, 2012

Birthdays and Parties Galore!

HEY GUYS!

Sorry it's been a while since I have updated! It's been a super busy two weeks or so since my birthday!! So this is going to be a super long blog because I have so much to tell you guys! Where do I even begin.. Well for my birthday I received two awesome packages and so many lovely cards! I felt so loved and it made my whole week to be getting things from you guys!! Thank you all so much for everything! I had a huge party on the 21st that turned out quite lovely! There was so many people I didn't know, which actually is really weird because I had to walk up to them and be like OH! hey.. welcome to my party.. It's my birthday and my name is Kara.. and your name is? Haha! It was kinda crazy! Vanessa (my german buddy) hosted it at her apartment and we seriously had a blast! I am so lucky to have awesome friends and roommates! My birthday was on a Monday so we had FHE. We went to the old folks home and sang them hymns and then came back and did cake and ice-cream for me! I posted videos of my FHE group singing to me! So make sure you watch those. It was really funny and you get a glimpse of some of the awesome people I spend my time with! Here are some pics from my party and birthday!

My package from Mom and Dad and the girls :)


I got an ipod stereo and cell phone case with the gift card from Grandma and Grandpa Flanagan

I got chocolate from my Relief Society!

I got a necklace and letter from Todd!


Weesha made me cupcakes for the party and got me that awesome Spongebob balloon!
P.S The sweater I'm wearing is from Connie and Justin! :)



Athena, Alisha, Me, Andrea, Ashlin (alisha's roommates) and Rachel


Me and Jasmine:)

My Roommates! Carolina, Savanna, Me, D'laynie and Rachel. We missed Jeanie :(

Elaine (Vanessa's Roommate) and Vanessa


I love Vanessa so much!

Mardi Gra Themed :)

SISTERS!

My roommate Rachel made me a cake for FHE since my birthday was on a Monday and the last pic is me waiting while people sang to me and thinking of a wish!


Alright! So on Tuesday the 24th, we as BYU-I students have a devotional every Tuesday for about and hour. There are no classes scheduled during that time and it's a great thing to go to on Tuesdays! We were privlaged to have one of the 12 apostles come and speak to us! How cool is that!! Elder L. Tom Perry came and he gave an amazing talk! He talked about the importance of family and keeping your family strong in this world and sticking together. He also talked about us being willing to share who we are and taking advantages of new opportunities. Our support system is the church! I loved how he said that. We need to be optimistic and be free from the worldly things. Leave a positive change and be bold in our declaration of the Divinity of Jesus Christ. You reflect the light of Christ. If you go here https://web.byui.edu/devotionalsandspeeches/speeches.aspx you should be able to read the whole talk if you like! It's called Scaffolding of Our Lives! It was so good!! I have never seen the I-Center so full on Tuesday like it was this day! It was amazing! All four levels were packed full!

You aren't really suppose to take pics.. but I'm a rebel and did anyways! It was so cool how many people were there!


So then after that it was just a week full of studying and going to classes! Then the weekend came and Vanessa and I yet again went to Idaho Falls! We went to Olive Garden which was so delicious and probably the most full and actual meal I've had the whole time I've been up at school! It was definitely worth the money!

This is the pretty sunset from that night :)

FHE this week was so much fun! We played bigger or better! Whoo! Basically we got put into groups of three and you start out with something like a pushpin. We have to go to someone's apartment and ask them, do you have anything bigger or better than this pushpin. We got some of the most random things ever! We went from a pushpin, to a letter, to a magazine, to a teddy bear, to a pizza box, to a candle sense thing, to a huge coloring book and then a movie poster.. guess what movie! TWILIGHT! Yeah we so won! None of the other teams even came close to being as legit as us!!

We rock :) That is Liz and Keane with me!

So following that my roommates and I decided we want Jamba Juice! So off we went as roommates and friends to get a delicious smoothie!! We had so much fun singing in the car and partying it up and drawing pics! It was so much fun!!

This is me, Jeanie, and Carolina on the way out to the car.. haha

And here we are enjoying our smoothies! These is all my roommates except D'laynie! So me, Rachel, Savanna, Jeanie and Carolina! I love them :)

Vanessa and I also heard there was a duck pond here.. so we went on an adventure and found it!! :D




Okay! One more thing before I stop writing! I was walking through the store we have, called Broulims, and I couldn't help but take a picture of this aisle...

Only in a Mormon town would this much jello be necessary right.. Haha! There is also a huge aisle for food storage.. Yeah so awesome!

Anyways.. That's all I got for now! I won't update for probably a week! Have a good week all! I love and miss you bunches!